Aspen Film and Aspen Institute’s Eisner/Lauder New Views Present a Pre-Release Virtual Screening of Acclaimed Documentary AGGIE

Aspen Film and Aspen Institute’s Eisner/Lauder New Views Present a Pre-Release Virtual Screening of Acclaimed Documentary AGGIE

Official 2020 Sundance Film Festival Selection will be available to stream
October 2-4 including a pre-recorded Q&A
with filmmaker Catherine Gund

Aspen, CO (September 24, 2020): Aspen Film and the Aspen Institute Arts Program’s Eisner/Lauder New Views Documentaries & Dialogue Series present AGGIE, streaming for one-weekend-only, beginning Friday, October 2 at 5pm MT/7pm ET/4pm PT. Immediately following the film will be a panel discussion featuring filmmaker Catherine Gund and Dr. Douglas E. Wood, Director, Aspen Institute’s Criminal Justice Reform Initiative moderated by Aspen Institute Executive Vice President Elliot Gerson.

AGGIE explores the nexus of art, race, and justice through the story of art collector and philanthropist Agnes “Aggie” Gund. Selected by Marie Claire as a documentary “you can’t afford to miss in 2020,” and featuring Aggie in poignant conversation with artists, leaders and family, AGGIE tells the story of Agnes Gund’s life, her work and the creation of the groundbreaking Art for Justice Fund. As filmmaker Catherine Gund writes, “Aggie’s bold move to create Art for Justice inspired me to make this film. She challenged us to imagine the world she wants to live in. She envisioned a future for her grandchildren. Through Aggie’s story, I share the power of empathy and art to create ripples of change that reverberate for years to come. I made a film about the way she acts to illuminate the truth that justice doesn’t yet exist. We have to create it.”

To access a stream to AGGIE, viewers can visit AspenFilm.org. Access codes will go on sale Tuesday, September 29 at 12pm MT/2pm ET/11am PT; each virtual ticket will be $20. The film will be available for viewing starting at 5pm MT/7pm ET/4pm PT on Friday, October 2 until 5pm MT/7pm ET/4pm PT on Sunday, October 4.


MORE ABOUT AGGIE:

AGGIE is a feature-length documentary that explores the nexus of art, race, and justice through the story of art collector and philanthropist Agnes “Aggie” Gund’s life. Emmy® -nominated director Catherine Gund focuses on her mother’s journey to give viewers an understanding of the power of art to transform consciousness and inspire social change. Aggie is internationally recognized for her robust and prescient support of artists—particularly women and people of color—and her unwavering commitment to social justice issues. After falling in love with art as a high-school student, Aggie discovers a new way of looking at the world. The film opens with Aggie selling Roy Lichtenstein’s “Masterpiece” for $165 million to start the Art for Justice Fund. The proceeds from one of the highest grossing artworks ever sold fuel a monumental effort to reform the American criminal justice system and end mass incarceration. The film captures Aggie as a true maverick, who demonstrates the unique role and potential of collectors and benefactors to use art to fight injustice. This is new, untapped terrain, and we see Aggie leading the way.

AGGIE, an Aubin Pictures film and Strand Releasing release, will premiere at New York’s Film Forum on October 7.

– END –

 

ABOUT ASPEN FILM:
Established in 1979, Aspen Film is one of Colorado’s most active film arts organizations, presenting dynamic programs and featured guest artists throughout the year. Internationally recognized, Aspen Film organizes a major film event in every season, along with an extensive education program: Aspen Filmfest, Academy Screenings, Aspen Shortsfest and FilmEducates. With a mission to enlighten, enrich, educate and entertain through film, Aspen Film stimulates thought, encourages dialogue and broadens understanding of our world and selves through the diverse spectrum of ideas presented by filmmakers worldwide. To learn more, visit aspenfilm.org.

ABOUT EISNER/LAUDER NEW VIEWS DOCUMENTARIES & DIALOGUE SERIES:
A program of the Aspen Institute’s Arts Program, the New Views Series features critically acclaimed and thought-provoking documentaries with post screening conversations with filmmakers and special guests. New Views is generously sponsored by Leonard Lauder, and Jane and Michael Eisner.

ABOUT AUBIN PICTURES:
Aubin Pictures, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization founded by Catherine Gund, with a mission to create cultural awareness and strategic, sustainable social justice through transformative, community-based production and impactful distribution of media. The work covers a range of topics including: art and culture; racial justice; LGBTQIA issues; reproductive justice; HIV/AIDS; the concept of democracy; and the radical right wing. Our goal is to educate and inspire dialogue on the issues and themes relevant to our times and to foster better understanding among communities.